lemming

Well, through no fault of my own I read Twilight. I hadn’t planned on it. Everyone was talking about it, and I was like, ‘huh?’ Because I don’t have kids, and I figured that had something to do with the fact that I didn’t even know it was a big deal.

And then someone who shall remain nameless sent me the book for my birthday. And I read it in one weekend. And even after I was done I didn’t think I was hooked. Until I found myself reaching for it again, and started reading from the beginning. Oh hell. I went to Barnes & Noble and bought the second book last night.

What is it about those books? It’s like Sweet Valley High meets Interview With the Vampire, which on the surface doesn’t sound like must-read material, but it’s completely addicting. I haven’t been this sucked into a book since I read all the Harry Potters in one (very slow) two-week period. At least I’m not alone. I know plenty of well-educated, intelligent, 30-something women who have read these books more than once, and seen the movie. Barry keeps making fun of me – but it’s my turn to pick what we order from Netflix. Oh, Edward!

2 responses to “lemming

  1. You know you love me. Do I get to say "I told you so" yet? he he heGo ahead and get books 3 &4 too – you might as well. FYI – Amazon has the collector's pack – hardbound – all 4 books for $45 with free shipping.

  2. Oh no, I’ve avoided it thus far but feel the tractor beam pulling me in!

Leave a Reply

