perspective

Seven years ago I went to a Mexican restaurant the night before my birthday – my 31st – and was the only one at the table who didn’t get carded after ordering margaritas. Needless to say, a breakdown ensued.

Last night, the night before my 38th birthday, I went to a Mexican restaurant, ordered a margarita, and got carded.

Seven years ago I was ordering those margaritas with my (ex) boyfriend and his brother. Things were rocky.

Last night I ordered those margaritas with my husband and his brother. Things are wonderful.

Seven years ago I was about to start a job that paid more than I’d ever made before and I was ecstatic.

Today I am waiting to start a job that pays more than that.

So I am younger-looking, happier and richer today than I was seven years ago.

Happy birthday to me!

2 responses to “perspective

  1. Indeed, a fantastic Bday. 🙂

  2. I’m sure you feel that the money you have made or will make has nothing to do with how rich you are. Even with no monetary income, I can tell that you are MUCH richer now than you were 7 years ago. Congratulations and I’m very happy for you!

Leave a Reply

