what about now?

I was driving to work this morning and flipping stations, and when I came to the country station, “What About Now” by Lonestar was on and I realized it perfectly describes why we’re moving to Florida.

Now that it’s “out,” I can explain how the decision came about. Most of y’all know I’ve been homesick for a while now. Vegas has been fun, and I’ll never regret having moved here – I made some great friends, found a great job that I think I’m actually good at, and of course met Barry. But it’s not me. I’m an East Coast girl at heart. My family is all in New York or Florida. I love Dunkin’ Donuts and Chick Fil-a, and I’m sick of going to Von’s and seeing Best Foods – I want to buy Helman’s at Publix, and see the star and have it be Hardee’s, not Carl’s Jr. It’s silly, I know. But it’s the little things. And the big things – like, I miss the beach. I might not go there every weekend, but I need to know the option is there. And I miss seeing green. I know Orlando has gotten way developed – but you don’t realize how much open land is still there until you compare it to Vegas – houses on top of houses, and the little bits of open space are desert and rocks.
There’s some great things about Vegas for sure, and between my job (I’ll be staying with my current employer), Barry’s family and an upcoming wedding, I’ll be back somewhat regularly. But – oh yeah, back to the subject of the blog. I’d have put it off forever, thinking, now isn’t the right time to move home. But along came Barry, and one night in the Orlando airport he said, “what about now?”
So here we come.

Leave a Reply

