regret


Barry challenged me to write a blog starting with “Star Wars is an awesome movie but I never understood . . .” My own personal challenge was to do that, but make it tie in with something else I was thinking about. Eh . . . it’s a stretch!
Star Wars is an awesome movie, but I never understood why Princess Leia had a semi-British accent in the beginning (Governohr Taaahrkin . . .) and then never again. Carrie Fisher has said the same thing, and thinks it’s kind of funny that the directors had her do that initially, then drop it. Her being a princess, and regal and all, it probably seemed like a good idea at the time. We all know how that goes.
I’ve done a lot of things that seemed like a good idea at the time. In retrospect they hardly ever seem like a good idea. But that’s the thing about hindsight – you can use it to reflect, to laugh at yourself, to wonder what you were thinking. Just don’t use it to wallow in regret.
I’ve often said I don’t believe in regret. It’s a waste of time. It won’t change anything, and if the thing you’re regretting had never happened, you probably wouldn’t be the person you are today. There’s a lot of things in my past I could regret, but if none of them, or whatever chain of events stemmed from them, had taken place, I probably wouldn’t be right here, right now writing this blog. Every relationship I’ve had – friend, boyfriend, casual acquaintance – has had an impact on who and where I am. Some things I could regret – friendships that ended, relationships that never should have started – but it won’t change things. I’m grateful for every person, place and experience that’s been a part of my life, I look forward to all that are to come, and I know that who and where I am today is exactly what’s meant to be. That may seem like an odd statement from someone who professes to not believe in religion. But I do believe in fate, and karma, and that there’s some greater force – oooh, or maybe Force – with a hand in things. I’d hate to think this is all arbitrary, after all. Things work out the way they’re meant to.
I mean, could Leia have pulled off “stuck-up, half-witted, scruffy-looking nerf herder!” half as well with a British accent? I think not.

Leave a Reply

