does mold count as a pet?

So I made coffee last weekend, which turned out to be a big mistake. Normally I try to avoid anything that resembles cooking and go to Starbucks (note: I’m not a Starbucks snob, and if there was a Dunkin’ Donuts within a 100-mile radius I’d be there every day – one thing that sucks about Vegas, that and the lack of a Chick Fil-A). Anyway, since I don’t make coffee often enough to have a good feel for how much to make, I made that crappy amount that’s just slightly more than a cup and not enough to bother with getting out the creamer and Splenda for a second cup. So I meant to dump the rest down the drain, but forgot.
Today I looked at the pot for the first time in a week, and there was mold growing in the coffee. It was gross. Unfortunately, it was also the first living organism in years to share a space with me without my killing it, giving it away or breaking up with it. It was a little sad to pour it down the drain. And now my coffee pot is sitting in the sink full of soap, and I’m not sure if it’s safe to use again. Fortunately I got a Starbucks card for my birthday, so I don’t have to worry about it for at least another week.
I wonder, though, if having kept the mold alive for what was probably at least three days counts as a step – you know – get a plant, if you keep the plant alive for a year, get a pet, if you keep the pet alive for a year you can try a relationship.
Maybe I’ll buy a plant tomorrow . . .

Leave a Reply

